Puritan Classics Box Set 10 volume set

Jeremiah BurroughsJohn BunyanJohn FlavelJoseph AlleineRichard BaxterRichard SibbesSamuel RutherfordThomas BrooksThomas WatsonWilliam Perkins

Banner of Truth

Sale price $187.50 Regular price $250.00

Shipping calculated at checkout.

10 volume set

Friends have told me that they have discovered books written by some of the Puritans that have been a tremendous help to them! Could you recommend a few classics to me?’

Many Christians ask that question today. Nor are we the first to feel we need someone to guide us. Already in the Puritan period Richard Baxter saw that need — and drew up lists adjusted to finances available. But even his list for the poorest contained around one hundred authors! The Puritan Classics Box Set is more modest in size, certainly, but it presents a single package of attractively produced hardbound editions of some of the most helpful works written in the seventeenth century. All of them came from the ministries of men who were marked by God-centredness, faithfulness to Scripture, and a devotion to pointing people to Christ and maturing them in the faith.

The authors represented here span the years between 1558 (when William Perkins was born) and 1691 (when both Richard Baxter and John Flavel died) — in terms of English history, form the accession of Queen Elizabeth I in 1558 until just after the ‘Glorious Revolution’ of 1688. The all served in pastoral ministry and shared a profound knowledge of Scripture, and had an enviable ability to apply it to the congregations they loved and served.

Here are treasures beyond price that, through the wise investment of our reading and meditation, can make us rich beyond measure. Those who own this box set possess treasure indeed!


This 10 volume box set includes the following 15 titles:

The Art of Prophesying — William Perkins
The Bruised Reed — Richard Sibbes
The Letters of Samuel Rutherford — Samuel Rutherford
The Loveliness of Christ — Samuel Rutherford
A Lifting Up for the Downcast — William Bridge
The Rare Jewel of Christian Contentment — Jeremiah Burroughs
Precious Remedies Against Satan’s Devices — Thomas Brooks
The Reformed Pastor — Richard Baxter
The Godly Man’s Picture Drawn with a Scripture Pencil — Thomas Watson
The Doctrine of Repentance — Thomas Watson
All Things For Good — Thomas Watson
The Mystery of Providence — John Flavel
Facing Grief — John Flavel
A Sure Guide to Heaven — Joseph Alleine
Prayer — John Bunyan


These are the best of the Puritan Paperbacks Series, now with Smyth Sewn cloth binding, ribbon markers, and packaged with a 32-page booklet introduction from Sinclair Ferguson.



‘These are the books to return to again and again as old friends. They are also a sacred trust, to pass on to our families, and to recommend to friends. For in these books we have been given light on our path, instruction for our minds, wisdom for our lives, pleasures for our spirit.’ — SINCLAIR B. FERGUSON

  • 10 volumes
  • Hardcover
  • November 17, 2020
  • 9781848710214